Talloires Network
Leaders Conference
Live Engagement, Transform Lives

December 2–4
Cape Town
South Africa

MacJannet Prize

Each year, the Talloires Network recognizes exceptional university community engagement programs at its member universities.  This year, we received 75 nominations from 59 universities in 26 countries, the most nominations we have received to date. See who made it to the final round of the prize selection process by clicking here.

The MacJannet Prizes will be presented at the 2011 Talloires Network Leaders Conference in Madrid, Spain.  One first prize ($5,000), two second prizes ($2,500 each), and five third-place prizes ($1,000 each) were awarded to the following outstanding programs:

First place winner, receiving $5,000:

  • Programa Integral de Acción Comunitaria en Barrios Vulnerables/Community Action Program in Vulnerable Neighborhoods (PIACBV), Universidad de Buenos Aires (Argentina)

Two second place winners, each receiving $2,500:

  • Bright Site of Sunnyside Service Learning Centre, University of South Africa (South Africa)
  • Student Community Engagement, University of Brighton (United Kingdom)

Five third place winners, each receiving $1,000:

  • Amplifying Grassroots Community Voices in Vhembe District, University of Venda (South Africa)
  • Bard Palestinian Youth Initiative, Bard College (USA)
  • Creating Communities for Development, Tecnológico de Monterrey (Mexico)
  • DIT Community Links Programme, Dublin Institute of Technology (Ireland)
  • Lakeside Drive Community Garden, Charles Darwin University (Australia)

The geographic diversity of the winning programs demonstrates the global community engagement movement in higher education. In all regions of the world, higher education institutions are responding to pressing social issues, and students in particular are championing the idea of global citizenship. The MacJannet Prize recognizes the winning programs as models for universities worldwide and will continue to encourage community engagement within higher education. To learn more about this year’s winners, click here.

> 2011 MacJannet Prize winners